top of page

Final Project Ideas

Seven Deadly Sins

For my final project this semester, I want to take advantage of the book we have to make and use it to tell stories. For my narrative based project, I want to focus on the 7 Deadly Sins of The Bible. I want to base a short story around each sin with that embodies the idea of each sin in maybe 5 or 6 images per story. I want to explore bringing and idea to life on a narrative scale because last semester I created a world but no story. In general, telling stories with my pictures is something I want to get better at.

I was inspired by this show I've seen, and part of the story line is that there are 7 beings who all look human but none of them have a soul - and that's their objective in the show to become human. They all embody the sin they are named after, and their role is to lay down philosophical questions about the value of human life while at the same time challenge the definition of humanity. I'm interested in working with this concept because sin is a big part of life that regardless of religion everyone deals with these emotions - whether you label them as sin or not. Their existence is prevalent in society in every way, shape, and form. Those who live a sin free life are far and few and I think this fact will make the stories relatable as well as maybe even comforting.

As soon as I came up with my Idea I went online to research the sins as well as if any other artist had done something with a similar idea. I found this blog on tumblr and the girl who runs it puts images she finds online together in a collage to not necessarily tell as story but to set a mood - and she had done a set for the seven deadly sins. I want mine to be less literal than hers are. I want to relate the sins to modern day - like for example her image set for gluttony is all warm colors and pictures of food, whereas gluttony just means the overconsumption of goods. Most people would associate that with food but maybe my photoset would tell the story of an alcoholic.

http://skcgsra.tumblr.com/tagged/%7B-7-deadly-sins-%7D

Unanswered Questions / Ideas

• Whether to include the 7 Heavenly virtues

• How literal the story will be

• How the images will be displayed in the book vs/ the wall

For my second idea, I wanted to use the same concept of the 7 deadly sins but mix it with street photography. I want to capture the everyday real life moments of the "sins."

Another idea I had was to set the scene and shoot from the perspective of this character (or even maybe myself) witnessing or experiencing these sins firsthand.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page